Anastasia Beverly Hills Modern Renaissance Eyeshadow Palette Review

The Anastasia Modern Renaissance Palette has been immensely hyped up among social media; I resisted buying it because I had palettes with similar colours such as the Morphe 35O and Zoeva Cocoa Blend. I expected a high quality standard after trying other Anastasia products.

I ordered this palette from BeautyBay.com, which cost me £41.00, I received free next day delivery with my order.

anastasia-3

This palette contains 14 warm-toned shades including a range of matte, shimmer and sheer shades. There is also a built-in mirror and a double ended brush (not shown in the picture but is surprisingly good!). It claims to ”provide incredible colour pay off thanks to its intensely pigmented creamy formula”.

Swatches

anasrasia-1
LEFT TO RIGHT: Tempera, Golden Ochre, Vemeer, Buon Fresco, Antique Bronze, Love Letter, Cyprus Umber.  

Tempera is the most sheer shade of the palette, I have been using this combined with Golden Ochre to set my eyelids to make blending easier. Vemeer is a perfect brow bone and inner corner highlight which is buttery and applies well to the lid. I enjoy using Buon Fresco (soft lilac colour) or Golden Ochre as a transition shade, they blend perfectly into the crease. Cyprus Umber is the darkest and probably most pigmented shade from the palette which I use to darken the eye look or smoke out the lash line.

anastasia-2
LEFT TO RIGHT: Realgar, Warm Taupe, Venetian Red, Red Ochre, Primavera, Burnt Orange, Raw Sienna.

I love using warm orange, red-toned colours on my blue eyes as they make them pop which is why I was excited to try this palette. I didn’t have shades such as Venetian Red and Red Ochre in my collection already and they look great with the other warm toned colours in the crease. Although this palette looks intense and limited, it is actually pretty versatile and can be used to create a variety of looks; not just warm, red/orange toned ones. I like having the option of a champagne toned shimmer (Vemeer) and a gold toned shimmer (Primavera); I think this would be a great palette to take away as it isn’t as bulky as the Morphe palettes but still provides a vast range of shades.

Overview

This palette has lived up to my expectations and is even more pigmented than the Morphe palettes (which I didn’t think was possible). The only drawback is the amount of product powder dispersed when using the shadows! The colours are so soft making a cloud of powder appear when you tap your brush into a shade. This makes me think that the palette may not be as long lasting compared to other palettes but you can’t argue with the pigmentation. It can be easy to go overboard, I have learnt it is best to take small amounts of product to the eye with a gentle hand. I LOVE this palette and would highly recommend it, I am intrigued to try other ABH products such as the Glow and Contour Kits!

anastasia-4

I may have been late to the hype but hope you’ve enjoyed reading my opinion on the Anastasia Modern Renaissance Eyeshadow Palette.

abh-palette

Lia

Xx

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

