Benefit Advent Calendar 2016 review- ‘Girl O’Clock Rock’

My first beauty advent calendar. I received this as a birthday present in October and was excited to use it when December hit. Although it is now January, I still wanted to share my views and opinions on the products inside and the calendar as a whole as I imagine there will be a 2017 calendar with similar products included.

Back when this calendar was current, it retailed for £34.99. It includes 12 travel sized benefit products incased in the girly benefit packaging. I opened a door every other day starting from the first of December leading up to Christmas Day even though it was tempting to open them all at once!

The calendar was light sensitive, when opened and exposed to light it would play a catchy song, this was fun at first but towards the end of the month it was SO ANNOYING, I wish there was a button where you could turn it off! Oh well…

Products

beefit-5

  • 3g Dandelion
  • 4g Bad Gal Lash
  • 2.5ml High Beam
  • 2.5ml Lollitint
  • 2.5ml Benetint
  • 2.5ml Posietint
  • 3ml Porefessional
  • 3g They’re Real! Mascara
  • 7.5ml They’re Real! Remover
  • 3g It’s Potent! Eye cream
  • 6.5ml Ultra Plush Lip Gloss in Lollibob
  • 3g Hoola

I will be definitely taking these smaller-sized products in my makeup bag when I go away, they will be perfect to take on holiday and save so much space!

I especially love the eye cream, I had never tried any of Benefit’s skincare range but applying this under my eyes keeps them moisturised and makes my concealer go on so much better without it looking dry.

I already had the They’re Real! Mascara but regularly choose not to wear it purely because it is such a pain to get off!! I am so happy that the They’re Real! Remover was included in this set as I will be able to enjoy the mascara more!

From left to right on the swatches above: High beam, Benetint, Lollitint, Posietint.

I do not really rate these products but this is due to personal preference as I prefer powder face products as opposed to liquid or cream ones. I noticed when swatching these products that the Benetint blusher had a different texture and formula to the other 3, it was more watery and bled into the skin as shown in the picture.

enefit-9
Left: Dandelion             Right: Hoola

I originally already had the Hoola bronzer, its a great one for bronzing up the skin on my skin tone although is not suitable for contouring (for me). I know many people with darker skin tones find this amazing to contour with so I think this product is great for a wide range of skin tones!! Dandelion is such a pretty light pink colour which looks subtle on the skin but provides a healthy natural flush to the cheeks.

Favourite product in the calendar: 

benefit-10

My favourite product from the 12 products has to be this lipgloss. I HATE the feel of sticky lipgloss so don’t often wear it, to my surprise this is not sticky at all!! It is moisturising and gives a beautiful sheen to the lips. It also smells AMAZING!!! I will be looking at other shades of this lip glosses to purchase and would highly recommend this product the most of all of them!!

I loved this makeup advent calendar and will be purchasing another this christmas time maybe from another brand! This would make a great gift for a friend or even a treat for yourself.

Please leave a comment if you have tried any of these products!!

Lia

Xx

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

