Christmas 2016- Make Up Haul

2016 is coming to an end and despite some of the surprises it has brought it has definitely been an enjoyable year. This year I can personally admit that I have been utterly sucked into the makeup addiction world and my collection of makeup has most certainly tripled (at least) in size. Usually I buy myself the things I want with the money that I earn but this christmas I was lucky enough to be gifted the following items from my family and friends. 


Skin

  • Revlon colour stay foundation (dry/normal) in shade BUFF. 

revlon

I had heard that this foundation was comparable to the Estee Lauder- Double Wear Foundation which I wanted to try but could’t afford (as usual). I found it to have a sheer coverage (in my opinion) that can be built up.  On first impressions I found the formula to be watery and thin which didn’t cover many of my blemishes or even out my skin tone. The second attempt I tried it, I decided to add another layer to build the coverage. This created a great base for the rest of the makeup and didn’t feel heavy on the skin at all. I will be using this as my everyday foundation from now on!

  • RCMA Translucent Powder

rcma-powder

This product was a total shock when I opened it on Christmas Day as every time I went on BeautyBay to order it for myself it was out of stock. I had been wanting to join the ‘baking’ craze for a while but wasn’t sure which products were the best to use. I have only used it a couple of times since christmas but it seems to do the job of setting my concealer well.

  • NYX Baked Blush- TAUPE

nyx-contour

I would not have been introduced to this gem if it wasn’t for watching so many beauty youtubers and reading so many blogs. This is seriously as good as it is hyped up to be. I have porcelain toned skin making some contour shades and bronzers look a little orange and unnatural. This has an ashy almost mauve undertone to give the look of a realistic shadow which meets the aim of contouring. LOVE.


Eyes

  • Maybelline Eyeshadow Colour Tattoo- PINK GOLD 

 

This product couldn’t get any more perfect for getting ready when you’re in a rush. I swipe this on my lids with a finger and then blend it out with a brush, add some bronzer through the crease and finalise the eyes with some mascara. This is the second shade out of this collection that I now own but this one is by far my favourite. I can’t wait to use this in summer!

  • Morphe 35F Palette

morphe-35f

Thanks to my mum for picking this out, there are some amazing, crazy pigmented shades in this palette which allows me to create endless versatile looks. I was definitely missing out on bright colours from my makeup collection.

eye

  • MAC Veluxe Pearlfusion Shadow- PLUMLUXE

My first MAC palette. Full of purple toned colours which I didn’t have in my collection before. They are all shimmery and pigmented, I intensified the pigment by wetting my brush with some Urban Decay Setting Spray for a more intense finish.

  • Sleek Diamonds in the rough eyeshadow palette

sleek-eyeshadow

I think this palette is new from sleek, I had never seen it before I received it as a gift. These shimmery shades are so pretty and are perfect to use for a soft shimmery look. This would be a great palette to take on holiday.

  • Ardell Press on lasheslashesI was intrigued by the concept of these lashes as I struggle to apply false lashes usually. I can’t wait to try them, hopefully they work out! For any that don’t know, they have a  permanent, sticky adhesive lash band which cancels out the requirement for glue.

    Brows

  • Anastasia Beverly Hills Diprbrow Pomade- TAUPE

This has been on my wish-list for well over a year now,  it is favoured by so many beauty gurus and is popular among social media. I found it difficult to use at first but with practice I got used to it. I am cautious that it will dry out quickly but for the meantime I will continue to use this as part of my everyday makeup.

  • Anastasia Beverly Hills Brow Wiz- MEDIUM BROWN

brow-wiz

I will definitely be using this product in the mornings before school and work, it gives such a speedy application. The shade Medium Brown matches perfectly to my hair colour and I have used this a couple of times with the Dipbrow Pomade to mimic hairs.


Lips

  • Jeffree Star Liquid Lipstick- ROSE MATTER

jefree-star-liquid-lipstick

To my surprise, this liquid lipstick is no way near as drying as the Kylie Cosmetic ones. I think I’ve found a new favourite formula, they last so long and they are so pigmented. The shade does come out slightly more vibrant than it looks in the packaging. This shade, Rose Matter, is more pink than the nude I expected it to be.


Tools

  • Sephora Brush Set

brushes

How amazing are these? I think I love these so much because I can’t get hold of them here in England, they are made out of real hair and are supperrrr soft. Cant get enough of them, the aesthetic is EVERYTHING.

  • Beauty Blender

I could never justify spending £16 for a sponge so I put it on my wish list for christmas. In my opinion the Beauty Blender is much better and blending foundation than the Real Techniques sponge its just a shame about the cost. Will use this any day over a brush now to give a more natural looking finish to my skin.


I am so thankful for everything I got this Christmas. I hope everyone had an amazing time and a happy new year.

 

Lia

Xx

4 thoughts on “Christmas 2016- Make Up Haul

Leave a Reply

